Richard Baker. Photo Mike Kear

Richard Baker ‘Learning to Fly’ with Shadwell Ensemble

Tonia Ko Europe Performances & Young Women Composers Faculty...

Jean Cocteau - from 'Le testament d'Orphée'. Source:

29 June 2021 Comments Off on Graham Lynch Symphony Cocteau UK Première Views: 170 CE News

Graham Lynch Symphony Cocteau UK Première

Graham Lynch

Graham Lynch’s Symphony Cocteau will receive its UK premiere by an ensemble in the Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall at the Royal College of Music, Tuesday 13 July. Owing to the pandemic this concert isn’t open to the public, only to staff and students.

Symphony Cocteau was first commissioned and premiered by the East End Saxophone Quartet (originally graduates of the Eastman School of Music) plus pianist in the US. This four movement quintet is one of the longest in the repertoire for this more unusual instrumental combination.

Symphony Cocteau is inspired by the essence of Cocteau’s creative output across various media (poetry, plays, film, novels, art, etc.). It evokes characteristics and moods that were typical of his way of working, and all displaying a lightness of touch; with twists and turns and elements of surprise and illusion.

Composers Edition is proud to present Symphony Cocteau available for perusal and purchase through our website, as well as other works by Graham Lynch.

 Get news and deals with:
Composers Edition Club

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.