Gustavo Díaz-Jerez

Gustavo Díaz-Jerez Joins Composers Edition

Kevin Malone

Kevin Malone News and Premieres

29 March 2019 Comments Off on Ed Bennett ‘Song of the Books’ Premiere Views: 967 CE News

Ed Bennett ‘Song of the Books’ Premiere

Ed Bennett
Ed Bennett

Decibel featuring Kate Ellis (Crash Ensemble) – Cafe Oto, London Monday 1 April and Royal Birmingham Conservatoire Tuesday 2 April

In these two special concerts Decibel premiere Ed Bennett’s substantial new 30 minute work for cello, electronics and amplified ensemble ‘Song of the Books’ which was written with assistance from the PRS Foundation Composer’s Fund and his recent ACNI Major artists award. The work takes as it’s starting point material from the traditional Irish tune ‘Amhrán na Leabhar’ or ‘Song of the Books’ treating it in radical ways which move far away from the original song whilst retaining some of it’s familiar ghostly resonances. The work was a co-commission by Decibel and the Crash Ensemble who will give the Irish premiere of the work later in 2019 again with Ellis as soloist.Alongside this premiere they will perform works written especially for the group by maverick composers Laurence Crane, Egidija Medeksaite, Linda Buckley and a brand new work by Leo Chadburn. 

‘Ed Bennett’s ensemble Decibel works across contemporary music fields, from the post-minimal amplified music popular in the Netherlands and New York, to the noisy and skronky improvisation that skulks loudly in hidden corners across the world, to the shards of various experimental electronic/spectral/notated musics currently itinerant between concert hall and laptop. This mixture maps very well – naturally – onto Bennett’s own fertile compositional voice, which blends the coiled concentration of the best post-minimalism with the ferocity and dynamic range of thrash metal and the variety of a composer like Heiner Goebbels. So Decibel can be seen as natural descendants of groups like Bang On A Can, whilst operating in and contributing to the formation of as-yet unsettled new musical contexts.’ – Stephen Graham, The Quietus 

Decibel Ensemble is directed by Ed Bennett, and comprises: Daniele Rosina – Conductor, Mira Benjamin – Violin, Neil McGovern – Saxophones, Michelle Holloway – Recorders, Jack McNeil – Clarinets, Martyn Sanderson – Trombone, Paul Norman – Electric Guitar, Sebastiano Dessanay – Bass, Eliza McCarthy – Piano, Damien Harron – Percussion. Their latest album Togetherness on Diatribe was described by BBC Radio 3 Record Review as “thought provoking and highly original, a great record”.

Monday 1 April 2019, 7:30pm
Cafe Oto, London
Decibel Featuring Kate Ellis (Crash Ensemble) – ‘Static Tones and Sliding Drones’

Tuesday 2 April 2019, 7pm
The Lab, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire

 Get news and deals with:
Composers Edition Club

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.