James Erber ‘Memoriae Sacrum’ for Piano Solo Berlin Performance

Ivors Awards Recognition for Composers Edition’s Charlotte Bray, Erika...

20 December 2019 Comments Off on Bumper Year of Recordings as Michael Zev Gordon & Erika Fox Portrait Discs Make 2019 Times Top 100 Views: 812 CE News

Bumper Year of Recordings as Michael Zev Gordon & Erika Fox Portrait Discs Make 2019 Times Top 100

2019 has been a great year for new recording releases of Composers Edition Composers including portrait CD releases for Martin Bussey, Erika Fox, Michael Zev Gordon, Sam Hayden, Jeffrey Holmes, Rob Keeley, Silvina Milstein and Francis Pott, plus great recordings of works by Ed Bennett, James Erber, Rob Fokkens and Ion Marmarinos. Both Goldfield Ensemble’s NMC release ‘Paths’ of music by Erika Fox and the Resonus’ ‘In the Middle of Things’ Michael Zev Gordon chamber music disc featuring the Fidelio Trio and Julian Bliss made The Times Top 100 of the year.

The quality of recordings is fantastic throughout, but what really stands out for us is the commitment and sheer brilliance of the performances. If you’ve not heard them all, we urge you to do so!

In No Strange Land

Choral Music by James Bussey

Sonoro, Michael Higgins (organ), Neil Ferris (conductor)

Resonus RES10251



Erika Fox

Goldfield Ensemble, Richard Baker (conductor), Richard Uttley (piano)

NMC D254


In the Middle of Things

Chamber Music by Michael Zev Gordon

Fidelio Trio, Julian Bliss (Clarinet)

Resonus RES10237



Sam Hayden

Ensemble Musikfabrik,
Stefan Asbury (conductor),
Quatuor Diotima,
BBC Symphony Orchestra,
David Robertson (conductor)

NMC D247


May The Bridges | Burn Light My Way

Jeffrey Holmes

Mike Kudirka (guitar), Brian Head (guitar), Shalini Vijayan (violin), Mari Kawamura (piano), Donald Crockett (conductor) plus over a dozen of Los Angeles’ best new music performers!

Microfest MF13


Rob Keeley Chamber Music

Victoria Samek (clarinets), Rob Keeley (piano), Chris Brannick (vibraphone), Aquinas Piano Trio

Naxos 8579046


Silvina Milstein Chamber Works

Odaline de la Martinez (conductor),
Dominic Saunders (piano),
Helen Tunstall (harp), Angelica Cathariou (mezzo-soprano)
Tarli-Varbanov Piano Duo

Lontano LNT141 & LNT142


Francis Pott Piano Music

Jeremy Filsell

Acis APL52078


Crash Ensemble : Crashlands

feat. Ed Bennett Accel


Diego Magas (guitar) : Knokler

feat. James Erber Am Grabe Memphis Minnies



Quatuor Capriccio : Capriccios

feat. Rob Fokkens Capriccio Variations


Contemporary Collection, Vol. 8: Contemporary Chamber Music Various artists

Contemporary Collection, Vol. 8: Contemporary Chamber Music

feat. Ion Marmarinos Le Chemin Qui Brille


Messiaen + Linda Catlin Smith

feat. Linda Catlin Smith Among the Tarnished Stars


 Get news and deals with:
Composers Edition Club

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.